JAM Project Updates 1/31/2024

I am hard at work getting read for my next YouTube video release. In this post, I share my progress updates for January 2024 and some targets I have for the coming month. This includes a sneak peak (in draft form) of my next YouTube video.

Jeff Anderson Math YouTube (JAMY) Project

ALAF: Introduction to Permutations Series

In the coming year, I will be releasing a sequence of videos for my Introduction to Permutation series. I expect this video series will include three “feature length” videos, each one of which will be 10 – 20 minutes long. In the description to these videos, I’ll include links to a textbook section that covers the same material introduced in the video and another link to solution sets to the beginning level problems given in the textbook. This will ensure that viewers who want to learn more can do so by reading the textbook, attempting the practice problems, and then correcting their own work.

Below I include a sneak peak (in rough draft form) to the first video in the determinant series:

I already have about a bunch of features I plan to change including:

  1. Slow down the images: the video goes too fast and doesn’t allow viewers to process
  2. Re-record the audio with much higher quality
  3. Finish the recording : I have another 10 + minutes of content to produce, edit, and prepare for this video alone
  4. Get the .pdf version of the textbook section in order to be released. Below is a link to the current unedited draft:

    https://jeff-anderson-wru2.squarespace.com/s/Anderson_Applied_Linear_Algebra_Introduction_to_Permutations_Draft_20231214.pdf

    Thank you to my editing team for providing feedback. I have been implementing that but haven’t uploaded these edits to my webpage yet (I’ve been focused heavily on video production for the last month).
  5. Create a draft of the solutions to the beginning-level problems from the textbook section
  6. Prepare a errata system so that readers can submit edits, typos, and comments directly to me as an author
  7. Prepare a version control systems so that I can track the versions of both textbook and solution set manuals across the various video series that I produce.

I do want to mention that this is part of a larger project that will include three series to provide what I consider to be the best, most comprehensive, most intuitive introduction to determinants on all of YouTube. Determinant functions are key tools for introducing Eigenvalue theory in linear algebra. This video project is part of my effort to create excellent learning materials that are available with no required pay wall so that students can learn determinants in ways that are very meaningful.

Next Steps for YouTube production

As I work through this project, I am creating a plan of action for the coming months. I am doing work that is quite ambitious and takes some deep thought along with a ton of daily action. In the coming years, I am aiming to build my YouTube channel to feature 1+ million subscribers. I also want to create a high-quality, college level Applied Linear Algebra textbook manuscript that is available to the world with no required paywall. Thus, I’m being patient with myself as I set up the systems to do this work. Below are my current thoughts about my next milestones in this project:

  1. 2/1/24 – Release a sneak peak to the next video I produce (in draft form to work out kinks)
  2. 3/1/24 – Release a YouTube short that introduces ALAF textbook and video project
  3. 4/1/24 – Release a YouTube short as a teaser to Intro to Permutation video 1
  4. 5/1/24 – Release draft copy of solution set to beginning level problems
  5. 6/1/24 – Release Intro to Permutations Video Series including .pdf links to both textbook content and corresponding solution sets
  6. 7/1/24 – Release short on the transposition mystery to gear up for video 2 in permutation series.

This is in rough draft form and there is a lot of learning still to be done. Still, I’m very excited to be making progress. I am going a little slower than I would like because I am doing a lot of learning. Moreover, this process requires that I build a ton of new systems which I like to do deliberately so that I can use those for years to come.

JAMY Skill Development

In the last month, I have been teaching myself Adobe Premier Pro software using a large collection of online resources. I have also created a Notion page to track my learning and give me access to the resources I find helpful for future resources.

I am quite proud to report that I produced the clip above using Adobe Premier. This has been a steep learning curve and I am thoroughly enjoying all the challenges that I am working through to produce the highest quality video I can for my viewers.

I have other updates but it’s time to move onto my day job. Thank you for your interest in this project and to be continued in the next post!

3 thoughts on “JAM Project Updates 1/31/2024

Leave a comment