Educational Recording Studio Equipment

This post is a revision of one of my previous posts on how to build an at home recording studio. The goal of this post is to provide concrete ideas about technology you can use to create a functional recording studio to make educational videos in your home office.

Assuming I have access to a good computer that could handle video editing software and multiple input devices, below is a list of the materials I would purchase to set up a home studio today.

Total out-of-pocket expense: $1234.90 (not including tax)
Logitech Blue Yeti USB Microphone ($129.99 on 10/19/2022)
Neewer 2 pack of USB LED Video Lights ($27.99 on 10/19/2022: I would buy two)
Logitech C920x HD Pro Webcam ($59.99 on 10/19/2022)
IVEPO V4K Ultra High Definition USB Document Camera ($99.00 on 10/19/2022)
Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Hard Drive ($139.99 on 10/19/2022)
Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Portable Hard Drive ($109.99 on 10/19/2022)
TechSmith’s Camtasia Video Editing Software ($249 for access code)
Anker 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub ($17.99 each on 10/19/2022 : I would buy two)
CyberPower 2-Pack Surge Protector with 8 Outlets and 2 USB Ports ($24.99 each on 10/19/2022)
Dell P2419H 24 Inch Monitor ($329.99 on 10/19/2022)

In the video below, I give a brief tour of my home recording studio and show you how I use the various technology I reference in the list above.

Video 1: A brief tour of my home recording studio

Now that you have a general idea about the set up I use to produce, let me share some of the videos I’ve made using this set up. We’ll start with a video that includes the use of the document camera and my web camera. I use this video as part of my work to teach Introductory Applied Linear Algebra (Math 2Bat Foothill College). If you scroll through the play head, you’ll see multiple shots of the document camera that I use and the

Video 2: An example video using IPEVO document camera and my logitech web camera.

We can also look at an example of a video I made for my Introduction to Coding in MATLAB course (Engineering 11 at Foothill College). This video captures both handwritten work and on screen coding.

Video 3: Another example of a video using both the document camera and screen capture to walk students through a coding class

In other posts, we’ll explore more about the capture and editing process. The goal in sharing these videos here is to show you the various types of content I can capture using my set up.

One thought on “Educational Recording Studio Equipment

Leave a comment